Daily Action

Daily Action 3.1.17

This information was sent out this morning by Nashville Organized for Action and Hope (NOAH). To learn more about NOAH or join their mailing list so you can receive up-to-the-minute email updates about important issues in Nashville, visit www.noahtn.org.

FROM NOAH:


PLEASE ACT TODAY!
Please forgive this last minute email, but we have a chance to make a BIG difference in reducing the population in our Metro jail!   IF WE ACT TODAY!group-of-people-cartoon.jpg
About 30% of the inmates in the Metro Jail are mentally ill.  Sheriffs from counties across the state say this is a major crisis in their own jails.  People with mental illness need treatment instead of incarceration. NOAH’s Criminal Justice Task Force has worked with mental health advocates across the state to get $15 million into the governor’s budget for pre-arrest mental health diversion from jail state-wide. However, this funding may be threatened – and YOU can help protect it!

Governor Haslam has recommended a gas tax increase so that necessary improvements can be made to our roads. New legislation – House Bill 1012 by Rep. David Hawk–R (Greeneville) – has been proposed which would instead require that a portion of Tennessee’s sales tax be used to fund these same road projects.

If the proposed quarter of 1% of the sales tax is used for roads, then there will be well over $300 million sales tax dollars taken away from critical health care, behavioral health care, children’s services, education, environment, and other servicesMany services important to Tennesseans will be cut if House Bill 1012 passes!

Please contact your legislator TODAY to let them know you strongly oppose House Bill 1012 and any use of sales tax dollars for road building projects because that would threaten the funding of other critical services.  It is also MOST IMPORTANT to contact the members of the House Transportation Subcommittee before March 1st (LISTED BELOW).

Thanks for your help on this critical issue!  It only takes a minute to make a BIG difference!

NOAH Criminal Justice Task Force


Clipart-email_as_envelope_-_niBGkk9iA.png

Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver, Chm. (R)-Lancaster  (615) 741-2192  rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. David Alexander, (R)-Winchester  (615) 741-8695  rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov

Barbara Cooper, (D)-Memphis  (615) 741-4295    rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov

Barry Doss, (R)-Leoma  (615) 741-7476    rep.barry.doss@capitol.tn.gov

Courtney Rogers, (R)-Goodlettsville  (615) 741-3893  rep.courtney.rogers@capitol.tn.gov

Jerry Sexton, (R)-Bean Station  (615) 741-2534   rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Sam Whitson, (R)-Franklin  (615) 741-1864   rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov

John Mark Windle, (D)-Livingston  (615) 741-1260   rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

SOMETHING YOU MIGHT SAY IN AN EMAIL OR PHONE CALL.   USE YOUR OWN WORDS, BUT DO THIS NOW AND NOT LATER!

SUBJECT LINE: Please OPPOSE HB 1012 and Use of Sales Tax for Roads

Dear _________,

Please oppose House Bill 1012 and any use of sales tax funds for road building projects.  Road building is needed, but using sales tax funds would take over $300 million away from critical health care, behavioral health care, children’s services, education, environment, and other services.

Many services important to all Tennesseans, including those in your district, will be cut if House Bill 1012 passes.

Sincerely,

YOUR NAME